Time activity log

This feature is in beta. We aren't currently adding more accounts to the beta. Thanks for your interest!

This article covers the basics of the time activity log. You may also want to review our time activity log FAQs.

About the time activity log

The activity log section (Time > Activity) shows all timesheet activity taken in the account. This includes:

  • New time entries
  • Deleted time entries
  • Starting and stopping a timer
  • Edits made to time entries (such as changing the project, task, date, and/or hours)
  • The person who made changes to a timesheet, and the person whose timesheet was changed
  • Hours moved in bulk from one project/task to another
  • Hours marked as invoiced or uninvoiced

If you’re an Administrator, you can see everyone’s activity in the log. If you’re a Manager, you can see your own activity, changes made to your own timesheet, and activity pertaining to people and/or projects you manage. If you’re a Member, you can see your own activity and changes made to your own timesheet.

Enabling the log

Beginning on November 14, you’ll have access to activity for the last 30 days. Then, as time passes, you’ll be able to access data for up to the past 6 months. Note: Before you can take the below steps, you'll need to request access to the beta by contacting us.

  1. Head to Settings (top right). 
    • Only Administrators can view and change account settings.
  2. Scroll down to the Modules section and click Choose modules.
  3. Check the box next to Activity log, then click Save modules. This will enable the timesheet activity log for everyone in the account. Then, you can head to Time > Activity to see the log.

Who can see what by permission level

Members can see:

  • Changes they’ve made to their own timesheet. 
  • Changes made to their timesheet by other people in the account.
  • What was added or updated (i.e. changes to the project, task, date, or hours) on their own timesheet.

Managers can see:

  • Changes they’ve made to their own timesheet. 
  • Changes made to their timesheet by other people in the account.
  • Changes made to other people’s time for people and projects they manage. 
  • What was added or updated (i.e. changes to the project, task, date, or hours).

Administrators can see:

  • All changes made across everyone’s timesheets. 

Filtering the log

  1. Head to Time > Activity and click the green Activity filters button. 
    • Note: When you first navigate to the page, you'll automatically see any events from the current week.
  2. Choose a Timeframe.
  3. Filter the clients, projects, tasks, and/or people you want to see in the report with the input boxes.
    • You can choose more than one item in each field.
    • Click Search team activity to filter by the person taking action on any timesheet instead of by actions taken on an individual person's timesheet. 
  4. Click Apply filters.

You can always click the Activity filters button to change the timeframe, clients, projects, tasks, and/or people included in the log.

Exporting the log

From the Export dropdown, you can export the log to Excel or CSV. 

Disabling the log

When you disable the activity log, it’ll be disabled for everyone in the account. Note that Harvest continues to keep track of actions taken in the account while the log is disabled, so if the log is enabled again, it will still show any timesheet actions taken within the last six months.

  1. Head to Settings (top right). 
    • Only Administrators can view and change account settings.
  2. Scroll down to the Modules section and click Choose modules.
  3. Uncheck the box next to Activity log, then click Save modules. This will disable the timesheet activity log for everyone in the account. 

 

Did you find this article helpful?

Still have questions? We’re happy to help!

Contact us