Version 2 billing: Is there a free version of Harvest?

Harvest does have a free version, and it is available for anyone to use.

When you first sign up for a Harvest account, you get a free 30-day trial that is fully featured—that is, it’s the same as it would be if you were paying for the account. This is different from the free plan, which you’re welcome to use as long as you’d like and which has some limitations.

Do I have to take action to use the free plan?

Yes. When your trial ends, you'll need to choose to switch to the free version or upgrade to a paid account; if you don't take either action, your trial will expire and you won't have access to it until you do choose one of those options.

How is the free plan different from a paid subscription?

Here are the limitations of the free version:

  • You can have only 1 active person in the account. Archived people don't count toward this limit.
  • You’re limited to 2 active projects. Archived projects don’t count toward this limit.
  • You can’t upload a company logo.
  • You can’t attach files to invoices or estimates.
  • You can’t integrate with QuickBooks Online or import projects and people from Asana.
  • You can’t import data.

You'll still be able to send unlimited invoices and have unlimited clients.

Switching to the free plan

Your Harvest account must fit the requirements mentioned above before you’ll be able to switch to the free version.

 

If you click that link and aren’t able to make the switch, you’ll be prompted to archive people and/or archive or delete projects so that you have no more than 1 active person and 2 active projects in your account.

Switch from a trial to the free plan

To switch your free trial to the free plan:

  1. When you're ready to switch during your trial, click Settings (top right) and, in the Billing section (left sidebar), click the Switch to free plan link.
  2. On the Switch to free plan screen, click the button to confirm.
    • If you’ve enabled sample data in your trial account, any sample items will be removed when you make the switch.
    • The switch to the free plan happens immediately, even if there is time remaining in your trial period.

Switch from a monthly or yearly subscription to the free plan

To switch your paid subscription to the free plan:

  1. Click Settings (top right).
  2. Select Billing in the left sidebar.
  3. In the Current plan section, click the Switch to free plan link.
  4. Click the Switch to free plan button on the following page.

Your account will switch to the free plan on the date of your subscription renewal. You can cancel this change at any time prior to your renewal by clicking the Cancel link in the blue box in Settings.

Switch from the free plan to a paid plan

You can upgrade to a paid plan by clicking the Upgrade button at the bottom of any page in your account, or by clicking Upgrade plan from the Billing section of your Settings (top right). 

Did you find this article helpful?

Still have questions? We’re happy to help!

Contact us