Adding and Removing Sample Data

This article is for Administrators. Learn more about permissions.
If you’re a Regular User, check out our Regular User resources.

Sample data is dummy data that can be added to a trial or paid account. 

We know that trying out new software for your team takes time. Sample data lets you see right away what Harvest looks like and how it behaves with a full team. It’s also a breeze for you and your team to test time tracking with sample projects.

When you choose to include sample data, we’ll populate your account with sample clients, client contacts, projects, people, roles, and time and expense entries. All sample items include [SAMPLE] in the names so you can easily differentiate them from the real data you create.

Adding sample data when creating your Harvest trial account

You can add sample data right after you sign up for your new trial, while you're going through the multi-step welcome flow to set up the account.

In the third step (titled Add sample data to help you explore), just make sure the Add sample data to my trial checkbox is checked, and continue with the welcome flow.

Adding sample data to an existing trial or paid account

If you’re an Administrator and your account does not have sample data, you can choose to add sample data to your trial or paid account anytime. These changes will apply to all users on your Harvest account.

  1. Click on Settings (upper right corner).
    • Only Administrators can view and change Account Settings.
  2. Scroll down to the Sample Data section.
  3. Click the button to Add Sample Data.

Removing sample data from a trial or paid account

If you’re an Administrator and your account has sample data, you can choose to remove it anytime. These changes will apply to all users.

  1. Click on Settings (upper right corner).
    • Only Administrators can view and change Account Settings.
  2. Scroll down to the Sample Data section.
  3. Click Remove Sample Data to remove it.

We’ll remove:

  • Sample clients, contacts, projects, people, and roles. These will be removed even if you’ve edited them during your trial.
  • All time and expense entries related to sample clients, projects, and people.
  • All invoices and estimates associated with sample clients.
  • Custom data that’s dependent on samples. For example, if you created a custom project for a sample client, we’ll remove the project you created.

To see a list of data that’ll be removed, head to your Settings and click Remove Sample Data. A dialog will open, and you can click see exactly what’ll be removed to reveal a list specific to your account.

Can I convert to a paid plan without removing sample data from my account?

Yes! You can keep sample data in your account when you convert from a trial to a paid plan. You can add or remove sample data from the Settings of a paid account at any time. 

Note: Sample data will be automatically removed when converting from a trial or paid subscription to our free plan. Sample data is not available on the free plan.

Did you find this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful

Still have questions? We’re happy to help!

Contact Us