Tracking and editing time: Day view 🎦

In the Day view of your timesheet, you can either start a timer to run while you take care of a task or add entries for work you’ve already done. You can also add notes to your time entries and edit or delete previously entered time. Keyboard shortcuts and copying a previous timesheet can help you track time more efficiently.

You can reach this view by going to Time > Timesheet and ensuring that the Day/Week toggle is set to Day.

Certain company settings will change how you track time and the appearance of your time entries. Learn more about time entry format

If you’re entering a week’s worth of time, you might want to use the Week view. In addition to the Day and Week views you can also track time with our desktop and mobile apps

We recommend tracking time every day—it’s the best way to ensure the accuracy of your timekeeping. You can set up reminder emails that will automatically remind you to track your time whenever you choose.

How to enter time in the Day view

There are two ways to track time in your timesheet’s Day view. You can keep a timer running while you work—during a phone call with a client, for example—or enter time after the fact, when you get out of a meeting or at the end of the day.

Adding time in the Day view

  1. Head to Time > Timesheet.
  2. Click the +Track time button.
  3. Choose your project and task. You can quickly select by typing the project or task name in the selection box and pressing your Enter key.
    • Note: To track time to a client, you’ll need to create a project for them first.
  4. If you want to keep any Notes on your work, you can add those here, too.
  5. Start a running timer by clicking Start timer, or enter a duration (or start and end times, if your timesheet is set up that way) and click Save entry.

Because Harvest is web-based, your timesheet is constantly being saved whenever you start or end a timer or edit an entry—there’s no additional save button to click!

Time entry format

Certain company settings will change how you track time and the appearance of your time entries. Learn more in our article on time settings.

Depending on how Administrators have set up your account:

Keyboard shortcuts

There are a few keyboard shortcuts for your timesheet that can help you start your timer even faster.

  • Track time: Hit the N key on your keyboard.
  • Closing the new time entry window: Hit ESC on your keyboard.

Copying your last timesheet

If you work on the same tasks day to day, you can copy over the projects and tasks from your most recent timesheet.

At the bottom of a blank timesheet, click the link to Copy over all rows from previous timesheet. The projects and tasks you worked on most recently, including any notes, will show up on your current timesheet without any tracked time.

If you don't see the link, it's most likely because this is the first week you're tracking time. You should see it on your Day view timesheets starting the following week.

Tracking to a past or future date

You can enter time for the past or a future date by using the arrows or calendar on your timesheet to navigate to a specific date as long as your timesheet hasn't been locked for the date you'd like to enter time for. 

Editing or deleting time in the Day view

Everyone can edit or delete their own time, as long as it hasn’t been locked. The project, task, notes, and start time (if you track time by start/end times) can be changed while a timer is running; once a timer is stopped, any aspect of the time entry can be changed except the person it's tracked to. In this case, the time entry will need to be recreated in the other person's timesheet and deleted from yours.

Administrators and Managers with permission to edit time can edit another person's time by clicking the Teammates button in the upper right corner of the timesheet and selecting the teammate in question, then navigating to the time entry they’d like to edit.

Editing unlocked time in the Day view

  1. Click the Edit button that appears to the right of the entry.
  2. Make your changes and click Update entry, or click Delete and confirm to permanently delete the entry.

Editing locked time

A time entry may be locked because it’s been invoiced or approved, or the project, task, or person related to the entry is archived.

Only Administrators can edit the Notes and Duration or Start/End time on a locked time entry. They can also delete locked time.

  1. Click the Lock button to the right of the entry.
  2. Make your changes to the Notes, Duration, or Start/End time and click Update entry, or click Delete and confirm to permanently delete the entry.

Administrators can’t edit the project/task combination for a locked entry. To do that, they’ll need to mark the entry as uninvoiced and/or withdraw approval for the entire timesheet.

If you need to unlock an entire timesheet, please see our article on locked time and expenses for instructions.

Did you find this article helpful?

Still have questions? We’re happy to help!

Contact us