Unlocking Time and Expenses if the Project, Task, or Person is Archived

Archived Project

If an entry is locked because a project is archived, you need to restore the project to unlock the entry.

  1. Go to Projects.
  2. Use the filter menu (top left of your Projects Overview page) to see just Archived Projects.
  3. Click the Restore button (to the right of a project listing) for the project you want to restore.

If the client associated with the project has also been archived, you’ll need to restore them first in order to restore projects belonging to that client:

  1. Go to Manage > Clients.
  2. Click Manage Archived Clients in the top right of your screen.
  3. Click on the name of the client you want to restore.
  4. Click Yes to restore them.

Archived Task

If a task has been archived on a project or within Manage > Tasks, that task needs to be restored in order to unlock the timesheet. A task that’s been archived in the account must be restored to the account first. Restoring a task in the account doesn’t automatically restore it on projects; you’ll then need to add the task back to a project from the project’s settings page.

To restore a task that has been archived from your account:

  1. Go to Manage > Tasks.
  2. Click Manage Archived Tasks in the top right of your screen.
  3. Click the back arrow button next to the task you want to restore.

To restore a task on the project to which it’s assigned:

  1. Go to Projects.
  2. Click the Actions menu to the right of any project listing and choose Edit.
  3. In the Tasks section, click the Restore button next to the task’s name.
  4. After the task is added, be sure to save your project.

Archived Person

If a person has been archived on a project or in your account, that person needs to be restored in order to unlock their time and expenses. A person who’s been archived in the account must be restored to the account first.

Restoring a person in the account doesn’t automatically restore them on projects; you’ll then need to add the person back to a project from the project’s settings page.

To restore a person who has been archived from your whole account:

  1. Go to Team.
  2. Click the Manage Archived People button in the lower right corner.
  3. Click the Edit button next to the person you want to restore.
  4. Click the Restore button on their profile to restore them.

Then you’ll need to assign the person to the projects they need to access, which you can do in two different ways:

  1. Go to Projects.
  2. Click the Actions menu to the right of a project and choose Edit.
  3. In the Team section, click the Restore button next to the person’s name.
  4. After the person is re-added, remember to save your project.

OR

  1. Go to Team.
  2. Click the person’s name from the list of users.
  3. Click the Edit Profile button in the upper right corner.
  4. From the Projects tab, click in the Select projects to assign field to assign them to projects. You can select multiple projects, or assign the person to all projects by selecting Assign to all projects at the bottom of the dropdown menu.

Note: Time and expenses can be locked for more than one reason. If you've taken these steps and still can't make your edits, use the steps in this article to determine why the entries are still locked.

Did you find this article helpful?

Still have questions? We’re happy to help!

Contact Us