Beta Permissions: How can Managers view, edit, and delete invoices?
This article is for Harvest beta permissions. The beta program is available to team accounts who opted in. If you're looking for information on invoices for a non-beta account, you can find that in the Invoices and Estimates section of our regular Help Center.
Managers with the optional permission to Create and edit draft invoices for projects they manage can create invoices for the projects they're set to manage. For a complete guide on creating invoices for your projects, you can view: Beta Permissions: How can Managers create an invoice?
With this optional permission, Managers can also view all invoices for the projects they manage, including invoices created by other team members. In addition, they can edit and delete draft invoices for those projects. If an invoice is a draft, Managers can view, edit, and delete it. If the invoice is sent, paid, or written-off, Managers will only be able to view it.
How to view invoices for projects you manage
- Go to Invoices > Overview to see a list of the invoices for the projects you manage.
- The Open tab will show any invoices that are drafts, sent, or late.
- The All invoices tab will show every invoice, including paid and written-off.
- Click into the invoice you would like to view.
How to edit invoices for projects you manage
- Go to Invoices > Overview and click into the invoice you would like to edit.
- Click the Edit invoice button in the top left of the invoice.
- Make your changes and click Update invoice to save the changes.
How to delete invoices for projects you manage
- Go to Invoices > Overview and click into the invoice you would like to delete.
- Under Actions, select Delete.
- Click Delete invoice to confirm that you'd like to delete the invoice.
Deleting an invoice is permanent. Once you delete an invoice, all hours and expenses associated with that invoice will become unlocked and marked as uninvoiced.
How editing an invoice created using tracked time and expenses affects your data
Editing or removing line items from your invoices created using tracked time and expenses can have varying results. To keep your data as accurate as possible, it’s important to know how things work.
What happens if I remove a line item before I initially save an invoice?
The time/expenses for that line item won’t be marked as invoiced. They won’t lock, and you’ll be able to include them in future invoices.
What happens if I remove a line item on a previously saved invoice?
The time/expenses for that line item will become unlocked and marked as uninvoiced. You’ll be able to include them in future invoices.
What happens if I edit line items by changing the Description, Unit Price, or Quantity fields?
The change on the invoice will not affect your timesheet or expense data, and the entire time or expense entry will lock and cannot be pulled into future invoices. For example, if your line item is for 10 hours, and you change it to be 5 hours, all 10 hours in your time entry will stay invoiced and locked. Your timesheets and reports will display that all 10 hours are invoiced.
What happens if I change the project that a line item is linked to?
After you save your edits, only the invoice changes. The related time/expenses do not change. In Timesheets and in Time reports, the time/expense entries will still be applied to their original project.
What happens if I add a line item to my invoice?
Adding line items doesn’t affect your tracked time or expenses or your project budget. It’s just an additional free-form line item included in the invoice.