Beta Permissions: How can Managers create and edit tasks?

This article is for Harvest beta permissions.  The beta program is available to team accounts who opted in. If you're looking for information on tasks for a non-beta account, you can find that in the Managing tasks article of our regular Help Center.

Managers with the optional permission to Create and edit all clients and tasks on the account can can add, edit, archive, or delete tasks from Manage > Tasks. Once a task is added to your account, it can be added to any project. Then people can track time to it.

If you have several tasks in your account, using your browser’s search function can be a handy way to quickly track one down in this section of the account.

Adding tasks

  1. Go to Manage > Tasks and click New task.
  2. Name the task.
  3. Enter a default rate—available if your profile has the optional permission to See and edit billable rates and amounts for projects and people they manage enabled by an Administrator.
  4. Check This task is billable by default if the task is always billable.
  5. Select This is a common task if you want it to be automatically added to all of your account's future projects.
  6. Click Save Task.

To add a task to a project:

  1. Go to Projects and click the Actions menu to the right of the project you’d like to edit.
  2. Select Edit to get to the Project edit form.
  3. Scroll down until you see the Tasks list. Add the desired task from the menu.
  4. Save your project.

Note: While all managers of projects can add existing tasks to projects, only Managers with special permission can create brand new tasks for the project. Best practice is to have an Administrator or Manager with create task permissions create the task in the Manage > Tasks section so they can add the default information for the task, such as the default hourly rate.

There isn't a way to create subtasks in Harvest. However, some people find it helpful to create tasks with the subtask as part of the task name. For example: "Design: Logo", "Design: Home Page."

Editing tasks

You can edit tasks under Manage > Tasks by clicking Edit next to the task name.

Updates to your tasks affect your projects differently. Here’s what you’ll see:

Edits that take effect on all existing projects a task is assigned to:

  • Changing Task name.

Edits that affect future projects only:

  • Updating a task’s Default hourly rate.
  • Selecting This task is billable by default.
  • Selecting This is a common task.

Archiving tasks

You can archive a task if it has time tracked to it. To archive a task:

  1. Go to Manage > Tasks.
  2. Click Archive to the right of the task’s name.
  3. Click Archive task to confirm.

Once you archive a task, it will be archived on all the projects in the account it is currently assigned to, and people won’t be able to track time to it anymore. All time tracked to the task will stay intact and will be available for reporting and invoicing.

To restore archived tasks:

  1. Go to Manage > Tasks, and click View archived tasks in the upper right.
  2. Click Restore next to the task’s name.

If you restore a task, you also need to restore it on your projects, if necessary. This will allow you to track time to the task on that project. To restore a task on a project if you have the optional permission to create and edit projects enabled:

  1. Go to Projects and click the Actions menu to the right of the project you’d like to edit.
  2. Select Edit to get to the Project edit form.
  3. In the Tasks section, click Restore next to the task’s name to re-add it to the project.
  4. Then, click Update project at the bottom of the page.

Deleting tasks

You can only delete a task if it has no time tracked to it. To delete a task:

  1. Delete all time entries for that task OR move all time entries for that task to a different task.
    • Note that only Managers with the optional permission to edit time can delete entries and only Administrators can bulk move time entries. 
  2. Go to Manage > Tasks, and click Delete next to the task name.
  3. Click the Delete task button to confirm. You cannot undo this action.

Did you find this article helpful?

Still have questions? We’re happy to help!

Contact Us