Beta Permissions: How can Mangers create and manage estimates?

This article is for Harvest beta permissions.  The beta program is available to team accounts who opted in. If you're looking for information on estimates for a non-beta account, you can find that in the Estimates section of our regular Help Center.

Managers with the optional permission to Create and edit all estimates on the account can create, edit, send, and manage all estimates on the account from the Estimates section.

How to create an estimate

Creating an estimate is similar to creating a free-form, open invoice.

  1. Go to Estimates > Overview and click New estimate.
  2. First, pick your client.
  3. Next, fill out the rest of the form.
  4. Click Save estimate. You can send your estimate right away, or save a draft and send it later.

Formatting estimate text

You can apply formatting to the Notes and Description fields of estimates:

  • To make a word or phrase bold, add an * (asterisk) to the start and end of the word or phrase. For example, this word should be *bold*.
  • To put a word or phrase in italics, add an _ (underscore) to the start and end of the word or phrase. For example, this word should be in _italics_.
  • To add bullet points to the Notes and Description fields, use Option+8 (on a Mac) or Alt+7 (on Windows).

Note: You can find a handy reminder of these formatting tips underneath the Notes field on your invoice’s edit screen.

Attaching files to an estimate

You can attach files—such as terms and conditions or examples of previous work—to an estimate before sending it to your client.

Once you’ve saved your estimate (step 4 in the instructions above), the draft version will have a link to Attach file to this estimate at the bottom, below the line items and (if applicable) estimate notes. Click the link to attach files:

Attach file to this estimate

When your client views the web estimate in Harvest, they’ll see a link to download the attachment(s).

How to edit an estimate:

  1. Go to Estimates > Overview and click into the estimate you would like to edit.
  2. Click the edit button in the top left of the estimate.
  3. Make your changes, and Save.

How to send an estimate:

  1. Go to Estimates > Overview and click into the estimate you’d like to send.
  2. Click the Send button.
  3. You’ll then be able to:
    • Choose which recipients the estimate will go to.
    • Make edits to the email subject or message.
  4. Click Send.

When you send estimates to your clients via Harvest, the emails will display your name but always come from notifications@harvestapp.com We set your email address as the reply-to address so that when a client replies, their message will be sent directly to you.

If an estimate fails to be delivered, Harvest will notify you via email so that you can follow up with your client and resend the estimate. To remove as many potential roadblocks as possible, we recommend that clients add notifications@harvestapp.com to the list of addresses they can receive emails from.

Adding recipients

When you send an estimate, you have the option to choose multiple recipients. If you have the optional permission to create clients enabled, you can add people to the list of recipients by creating additional client contacts. 

  1. Go to Estimates > Overview and click into the estimate you’d like to send.
  2. Click the Send button.
  3. Click Add contact under the list of recipients.
  4. Fill out the form and click Save contact.

Add invoice or estimate recipient

After you save the contact, they’ll be added to the list of recipients for that client. Check the box next to each recipient you’d like to include.

Accepting or declining estimates

If you send your estimates online, clients can automatically accept or decline an estimate by hitting Accepted or Declined on the Web estimate. If you do not send estimates electronically, you can record this manually.

  1. Go to Estimates > Overview, and click into the estimate which you’d like to accept or decline.
  2. Click Accepted or Declined.

You can change the status of an estimate if it is recorded incorrectly.

  1. Go to Estimates > Overview, and click into the estimate which you’d like to change.
  2. Under Actions, click Revert status.

How to delete an estimate:

  1. Go to Estimates > Overview and click into the estimate you would like to delete.
  2. Under Actions, select Delete.

Deleting an estimate is permanent.

Did you find this article helpful?

Still have questions? We’re happy to help!

Contact Us