What happens to my account and team settings when I turn on new permissions?
This article is in reference to new Harvest permissions, being released the week of March 14, 2022.
Harvest's new permissions features do not map exactly to our old permissions features. Therefore, we had to make some accommodations to ensure that your team's old permissions settings map as closely as possible to the new permissions features.
Here are the details of what will happen when your account receives the new permissions features:
For all accounts:
- Labels for certain permissions levels will change. This is just a label and does not necessarily signify specific changes to access.
- Regular Users will be called Members, but no changes will be made to their settings.
- Project Managers will be called Managers.
- Administrators will still be called Administrators and no changes will be made to their settings.
For accounts that are beta participants:
- Nothing will change. You already have the new features—thanks for trying them out!
For accounts that use the API:
- The API has been updated to align with the new permissions features.
- You can see specific changes in our article on New permissions: What changed with the API?
For accounts that do NOT have teammates with the Project Manager permission:
- Nothing will change except for the permissions titles in the account.
- However, you can use these features at any time by changing an existing teammate’s permissions or assigning these permissions to a new teammate.
For accounts that have teammates with the Project Manager permission:
- Depending on your teammates’ current permissions settings, they may:
- Gain read-only access to invoices for projects they manage
- Lose the ability to edit projects
- Lose the ability to create tasks
- Most of these things are customizable. You can learn more in our article on New permissions: What's new for Project Managers?
|Teammate's permissions setting||Access in old permissions model||Access in new permissions model|
|A Project Manager who has permission to create invoices||They can see and edit draft invoices they created, for the projects they’re set to manage||They can see and edit draft invoices anyone created, for the projects they’re set to manage|
|They cannot see any non-draft invoice linked to a project they manage||
They have read-only access to any non-draft invoice linked to a project they manage
They can be granted additional permission to edit and fully manage these non-draft invoices
|All Project Managers||Can edit projects they’re set to manage||
Can only edit projects if given permission
Note that if your Project Manager currently has permission to create projects, they will automatically be granted permission to create/edit projects when you get new permissions features.
|All Project Managers||Can create tasks||Can only create tasks if given permission|