Adding Seats To or Removing Seats From Your Subscription

This article is for Administrators. Learn more about permissions.
If you’re a Regular User, check out our Regular User resources.

Harvest makes a distinction between paid seats (the paid slots available for people to occupy) and active people (individuals who are currently using your account). That distinction allows you to archive or delete people who've left your company and invite new ones without having to change your seat count every time. It also means, however, that when you archive or delete an active person, their seat isn't automatically removed from your subscription.

Your seat count can be adjusted in the Billing Information section. The number of seats in your account determines the amount you’re billed upon subscription renewal as well as the maximum number of people who can be active in your account.

That is, if you want to reduce the amount you’re charged, you’ll need to first archive or delete people under Team and then reduce your seat count by taking the steps below. Along the same lines, you may need to increase your seat count before you’re able to invite more people to start using your Harvest account.

Adding seats to or removing seats from your monthly subscription

To add or remove seats for your monthly subscription, any Administrator can take the following steps:

  1. Head to Settings (top right).
  2. Go to the Subscription Plan area in the Billing Information section and click the Add or Remove Seats button.
  3. On the next screen, you’ll be able to adjust the number of seats in your plan.
  4. After changing your total number of seats, click the Update Billing Amount button to adjust your paid seat count.
    • If you reduce your seat count below the current number of active teammates, you’ll be directed to a new page to archive any additional people. Check the box beside the teammates you’d like to archive, then click Archive…Teammates to be taken back to the billing page.
    • Note that you won’t be able to archive the Account Owner or your own profile.
  5. Your next monthly bill will increase or decrease based on the new seat count.

Adding seats to or scheduling seats for removal from your yearly subscription

To add seats to your yearly subscription, any Administrator can take the following steps:

  1. Head to Settings (top right).
  2. Go to the Subscription Plan area in the Billing Information section and click the Add Seats button.
  3. On the next screen, you’ll be able to increase the number of seats in your plan.
  4. After entering the number of additional seats you’d like to purchase, click either the “Charge My Credit Card” or “Submit Order” button (depending on your payment method).
  5. If you pay yearly by credit card, you’ll automatically be charged a prorated amount for the seats you add. If you pay yearly via invoice, you’ll receive an invoice for the prorated amount.

To schedule seats for removal from your yearly subscription, any Administrator can take the following steps:

  1. Head to Settings (top right).
  2. Go to the Subscription Plan area in the Billing Information section and click the Remove Seats button.
    • If the button is grayed out, you'll need to archive team members before you can remove their seats. You can hover over the button and click the archive people link in the message.
  3. On the next page, select the number of seats you need to keep in your account from the dropdown menu.
    • If the lowest number of seats available is still too many, you'll need to archive more team members in your account by clicking the archive people link at the top of the page.
    • The Scheduled Subscription section will then show you the amount you'll be charged for the number of selected seats. 
    • The Summary section will show the number of seats that will be on your plan at renewal, along with your next renewal date and total subscription payment.
  4. Click Schedule Seat Removal to schedule the seat reduction for your next yearly renewal.
    • The decreased number of seats for your plan will go into effect on your next renewal date as described in the Summary section. 

If you pay yearly by invoice, you won't be able to reduce your seat count from within Settings after the subscription renewal invoice has been sent, which happens 30 days prior to your renewal date. If you'd like to reduce your seat count during this time, you can contact Harvest support.

Note: You will see the scheduled renewal information in your main Settings page in the Billing Information section—featured in a yellow message box. If you'd like to cancel the renewal plan, you can click Cancel in that message to renew with your current number of seats.

Did you find this article helpful?

Still have questions? We’re happy to help!

Contact Us