Editing and Deleting Invoices and Estimates

This article is for Administrators and some Project Managers. Learn more about permissions.
If you’re a Regular User, check out our Regular User resources.

Make changes to your invoices and estimates any time.

  1. Go to Invoices > Overview or Estimates > Overview and click into the invoice/estimate you would like to edit.
  2. Click the edit button in the top left of the invoice or estimate.
  3. Make your changes, and save.

To delete an invoice or estimate:

  1. Go to Invoices > Overview or Estimates > Overview and click into the invoice/estimate you would like to delete.
  2. Under Actions, select Delete.

Deleting an invoice/estimate is permanent. Once you delete an invoice, all hours and expenses associated with that invoice will become unlocked and marked as uninvoiced.

If you’re looking for specifics on customizing invoices and estimates, head to our page on configuring settings, messages, and translations.

How editing an invoice created using tracked time and expenses affects your data

Editing or removing line items from your invoices created using tracked time and expenses can have varying results. To keep your data as accurate as possible, it’s important to know how things work!

Q. What happens if I remove a line item before I initially save an invoice?

A. The time/expenses for that line item won’t be marked as invoiced. They won’t lock, and you’ll be able to include them in future invoices.

Q. What happens if I remove a line item on a previously saved invoice?

A. The time/expenses for that line item will become unlocked and marked as uninvoiced. You’ll be able to include them in future invoices.

Q. What happens if I edit line items by changing the Description, Unit Price, or Quantity fields?

A. The change on the invoice will not affect your timesheet or expense data, and the entire time or expense entry will lock and cannot be pulled into future invoices. For example, if your line item is for 10 hours, and you change it to be 5 hours, all 10 hours in your time entry will stay invoiced and locked. Your timesheets and reports will display that all 10 hours are invoiced.

Q. What happens if I change the project that a line item is linked to?

A. After you save your edits, only the invoice changes. The related time/expenses do not change. In Timesheets and in Time Reports, the time/expense entries will still be applied to their original project.

Q. What happens if I add a line item to my invoice?

A. Adding line items doesn’t affect your tracked time or expenses or your project budget. It’s just an additional free-form line item included in the invoice.

Don’t worry! If you need to update the invoiced status of time/expenses in your account, you can do that at any time by running a report from Reports > Detailed Time or Reports > Expenses. Once you’ve run your report, use the Mark Hours or Mark Expenses dropdown menu to update the entries.

Did you find this article helpful?

Still have questions? We’re happy to help!

Contact Us