Archiving, deleting, and restoring people

This article is for Administrators. Learn more about permissions.
If you’re a Regular User, check out our Regular User resources.

Harvest won’t allow you to delete people that have tracked time or expenses. Instead, Administrators can archive those team members. Archiving people allows you to add other people to your account without changing your Harvest subscription. An archived person’s data remains intact and accessible for reports and invoices. Restoring that person is easy and possible at any time.

If a person doesn’t have any time or expense entries, an Administrator can either archive or delete the team member from your account. This link provides more information about the difference between archiving and deleting in Harvest.

Archiving a person from the Team page will not automatically update the monthly or yearly charge for your subscription. After archiving team members, you can update your seat count following the steps in our article on adding seats to or removing seats from your subscription.

How to archive a person

Administrators can archive people who have tracked time or expenses in Harvest.

  1. Go to Team and click the Actions dropdown to the right of the relevant team member’s name.
  2. Select Archive.

Archived people and your Harvest subscription

The cost of a Harvest subscription is calculated based on the number of seats in your plan. There is no limit to the number of archived people you can have in your account. However, we will continue to charge you for archived people until you edit your plan.

After you archive a person, you can invite a new person to fill the unused seat in your plan. Alternately, you can downgrade your seat count to pay less per month or year.

Whether on a monthly or yearly plan, you can reduce your seat count following the steps in our article on adding seats to or removing seats from your subscription.

How archiving affects usage and data

Archived people will no longer be able to sign in to Harvest, and they’ll also be archived from all of their projects. All of an archived person’s time will remain accessible for reporting and invoicing. Their time will still be viewable in Reports, but not in Timesheets.

When a person is archived, they will be moved from the main Team overview to an archived list which you can view by clicking View archived people at the top of the page. They won't appear in the Team overview if they haven't tracked time in the week being viewed; if they have tracked time in that week, they will be shown with an Archived flag next to their name. 

If you’re filtering for Team in a detailed time or expense report and want to include one or more archived people in the results, note that you’ll first need to check the Include archived items in filters box to be able to select them in the filter. If you’re running the report for Everyone, any time or expenses tracked by archived people that fit the other parameters will automatically be included even if you don’t check that box.

How to restore an archived Person

You can restore an archived person at any time. To do this:

  1. Go to Team and click the View archived people button at the top of the page.
  2. Click the Restore button next to the person's name.

We'll then send them a new invitation to join the account. 

Adding a restored person to projects

Restoring people will not automatically restore them on projects they were previously assigned to. If you need to reassign a restored person to a project so they can track time and expenses again, follow these steps:

  1. Go to Projects and click the Actions menu to the right of the project you’d like to edit.
  2. Select Edit; you’ll be dropped into the edit project form.
  3. Scroll to the Team section and click the Reassign button next to the person’s name to assign them to the project again.
  4. Click Update project at the bottom of the page.

You can also quickly assign people to all or multiple projects from their user profile by taking the steps outlined in this article:  How do I assign a person to multiple projects?

How to delete a person

Administrators can delete a person if they don’t have any time or expense entries. If you only see the option to archive, please first delete all of the person's time and expense entries one by one in the Time > Timesheet and Expenses sections. To delete a person from your account, follow these steps:

  1. Go to Team and click the Actions dropdown to the right of the relevant team member’s name.
  2. Select Delete and confirm.

Note: When you delete a person, their name will be removed from the history of any invoices or estimates that they created or edited. The date and action taken will be listed, but their name will be replaced with Deleted User.

Did you find this article helpful?

Still have questions? We’re happy to help!

Contact Us