Closing Your Account or Placing Your Account On Hold

This article is for Administrators. Learn more about permissions.
If you’re a Regular User, check out our Regular User resources.

Only the Account Owner can place an account on hold or close an account. If you don't see the Close Account button in your Settings, this means you aren't the Account Owner and can't close the account or place it on hold. 

If you need help updating the Account Owner for your account please refer to this article: What is an Account Owner?

Putting your account on hold

If you want to stop using your account and cancel your subscription for now but keep the account intact so you can come back to it later, the Account Owner can put it on hold for up to six months from their Settings. No payment will be taken while the account is on hold.

After you put the account on hold, we’ll email you a link to download your account’s time and invoice data that will be available for one week. In addition, all data in an on-hold account will be maintained for six months, during which time you’ll still be able to access and export data from the Reports section but won’t otherwise be able to actively use the account.

If the account isn’t reactivated after six months, it’ll be permanently deleted along with any data in it. For this reason, we recommend that you also export all data before putting your account on hold.

To put the account on the hold, the Account Owner can take the following steps:

  1. In your Settings (top right), scroll down to the bottom of the page and click Close Account.
  2. Select Put My Account On Hold.
  3. Let us know why you’re putting the account on hold, then click the Put My Account on Hold button.
    • Note that this action takes effect immediately, even if you have time remaining in your billing cycle, so please make sure you and your team are completely done using the account. 

Any Administrator can reactivate an on-hold account. In your Settings (top right), go to the Billing Information section and click Reactivate Account, then complete the upgrade process. Please note that this will start a new paid subscription for you! Once that’s done, you’ll be all set to get back to work with Harvest.

Note: If the Harvest account you place on hold is connected to a Forecast account, your linked Forecast account will remain active and stay connected to the On Hold Harvest account. However, if the Harvest account isn’t reactivated after six months, it will be permanently deleted. If the Harvest account is deleted, the Forecast account will remain active, but it will be disconnected from Harvest.

Closing your account

If you want to cancel your subscription and completely delete the account, the Account Owner can close it from the Settings. We’ll then email you a link to download your account’s time and invoice data that will be available for one week after the account is closed.

We also recommend that you export any other data you may need before closing the account. If any of the exports are emailed to you rather than downloaded immediately, please make sure you follow those links and download the reports before closing the account, as the links won’t be available after you’ve taken that step.

To close your account, the Account Owner can take the following steps:

  1. In your Settings (top right), scroll down to the bottom of the page and click Close Account.
  2. Select Close My Account.
  3. Let us know why you’re closing the account, then click the Permanently Close My Account button.
    • Note that this action takes effect immediately, even if you have time remaining in your billing cycle, so please make sure you and your team are completely done using the account. 

Note: If the Harvest account you close is connected to a Forecast account, the Forecast account will no longer benefit from the integration features, but won't otherwise be affected. It will remain active, however, and you and your team will continue to have access to it.

Did you find this article helpful?

Still have questions? We’re happy to help!

Contact Us