Version 1 billing: Closing your account or placing your account on hold

This article is for Administrators. Learn more about permissions. If you’re a Member, check out our Member resources.

To stop your subscription, you can place your account on hold or close it. Only the Account Owner can place an account on hold or close an account. If you don't see the Close account section at the bottom of your sidebar in Settings, you aren't the Account Owner and can't take this action. 

If you need help updating the Account Owner for your account, please refer to What is an Account Owner? How do I change the Account Owner in my Harvest account?

Note that you must use a web browser to close your account or place it on hold; these actions aren't available in our mobile or desktop apps

Cancel your subsciption by placing your account on hold

If you want to stop using your account and cancel your subscription for now but keep the account intact so you can come back to it later, the Account Owner can put it on hold for up to six months. No payment will be taken while the account is on hold.

After you put the account on hold, we’ll email you a link to download your account’s time and invoice data, which will be available for one week. In addition, all data in an on-hold account will be maintained for six months, during which time you’ll still be able to access and export data from the Reports and Settings sections but won’t otherwise be able to actively use the account.

If the account isn’t reactivated after six months, it’ll be permanently deleted along with any data in it. For this reason, we recommend that you also export all data before putting your account on hold.

To put the account on hold, the Account Owner can take the following steps in a web browser:

  1. Click on Settings (upper right corner).
    • Only Administrators can view and change account settings.
  2. Click Close account in the left sidebar.
  3. Click the Close account button.
  4. Select Put my account on hold.
  5. Let us know why you’re putting the account on hold, then click the Put my account on hold button.
    • Note that this action takes effect immediately, even if you have time remaining in your billing cycle, so please make sure you and your team are completely done using the account. 

How placing a Harvest account on hold affects your Forecast account

If the Harvest account you place on hold is connected to a Forecast account, your linked Forecast account will remain active and stay connected to the on-hold Harvest account.

If the Harvest account isn’t reactivated after six months and is then permanently deleted, the Forecast account will remain active, but it will be disconnected from Harvest.

Reactivating an on-hold account

Any Administrator can reactivate an on-hold account. To do so, take the following steps in a web browser:

  1. Click on Settings (upper right corner).
    • Only Administrators can view and change account settings.
  2. Click Billing in the left sidebar.
  3. Click Reactivate account.
  4. Complete the upgrade process.
    • Please note that this will start a new paid subscription. 

Cancel your subscription by closing your account

If you want to cancel your subscription and completely delete the account, the Account Owner can close it from Settings. We’ll then email you a link to download your account’s time and invoice data, which will be available for one week after the account is closed.

We also recommend that you export any other data you may need before closing the account. If any of the exports are emailed to you rather than downloaded immediately, please make sure you follow those links and download the reports before closing the account, as the links won’t be available after you’ve taken that step.

To close your account, the Account Owner can take the following steps in a web browser:

  1. Click on Settings (upper right corner).
    • Only Administrators can view and change account settings.
  2. Click Close account in the left sidebar.
  3. Click the Close account button.
  4. Select Close my account.
  5. Let us know why you’re closing the account, then click the Permanently close my account button.
    • Note that this action takes effect immediately, even if you have time remaining in your billing cycle, so please make sure you and your team are completely done using the account. 

How closing your Harvest account affects your Forecast account

If the Harvest account you close is connected to a Forecast account, the Forecast account will no longer benefit from the integration features, but won't otherwise be affected. The Forecast account will remain active and you and your team will continue to have access to it.

If you'd also like to close your Forecast account, you can find the steps to do so in our article on closing your Forecast account.

Did you find this article helpful?

Still have questions? We’re happy to help!

Contact us