Deel - Enabling and managing the Deel connection

This article is for Administrators. Learn more about permissions. If you’re a Member, check out our Member resources.

The Harvest + Deel integration allows Administrators on your team to copy time entries from Harvest to Pay As You Go contracts in Deel, so you can pay global team members with ease on Deel.

To integrate with Deel, you must have Administrator permissions in Harvest.

Time entries can only be transferred to Pay As You Go contracts in Deel with a payment frequency set to Hour. In addition, the integration is only a one-way sync from Harvest to Deel for time entries; expenses do not copy to Deel.

Note: This integration isn’t available for Harvest accounts on our free plan

Enabling the connection to Deel

  1. In Harvest, click on Settings (upper right corner).
    • Only Administrators can view and change account settings.
  2. Click Integrations in the left sidebar.
  3. In the Deel section, click on Connect.
  4. Click Let's get started to begin the connection flow.
  5. You’ll be taken to Deel. Once signed in, click Allow.
  6. Once complete, you’ll be redirected to Harvest.
  7. Back in Harvest, you can connect your Harvest team members to their profiles and contracts in Deel. To do that, check the box next to any person you'd like to link.
    • If there are multiple contracts in Deel, click the button next to the one you'd like to link to the person's Harvest profile. Only one contract can be linked to a Harvest profile at a time. 
    • If there isn't a contract listed for the person, or if you're unable to select the contract, you'll see information that tells why linking isn't available.
  8. After selecting the profiles and contracts you'd like to link, click Link people and contracts.
    • You'll be able to connect people and contracts at any later point by following the steps listed below in Managing the Deel connection.

Note: You will only see a teammate's name listed for linking if their email (or Work email) in Deel matches the email used in their Harvest profile. Also, their profile must be active in Harvest, and they must have at least one active contract in Deel.

Managing the Deel connection

From the Manage connection page, you can view all linked profiles and contracts, unlink profiles, change contract selections, and link new profiles.

You'll also see the name of the connected Deel account, which you can click to be taken directly to your Deel account.

  1. In Harvest, click on Settings (upper right corner).
    • Only Administrators can view and change account settings.
  2. Click Integrations in the left sidebar.
  3. In the Deel section, click on Manage connection.

People linked

The People linked section shows people and contracts currently active and connected between the two platforms. The linked team members in this section can have their time entries in Harvest copied to Deel via the integration.

The person's profile in Harvest will show in the left column with their associated Pay As You Go contracts in Deel showing in the right column. 

Select the correct Deel contract

If a person has multiple Pay As You Go contracts, you can select the correct contract for them, as only one contract can be linked to each person at a given time. After selecting the correct contract, click Update to apply the change.

Unlink a person

To the right of a person's contracts, click Unlink if you'd like to disconnect their Harvest and Deel profiles. Unlinking a person will stop any future time entries for that person from being able to be copied to Deel, but existing copied time entries will remain in Deel. You will continue to see a Deel icon next to the time entries that were previously copied to Deel for the person. 

If you later relink the person, you can use the integration to copy new time entries to Deel or update previously copied entries.

People matched but not linked

The People matched but not linked section shows people matched between Harvest and Deel that haven’t been linked. This is a good place to check if you’re unsure why there’s no option to copy entries for a person who exists in both Harvest and Deel.

If a person has an active profile in both Harvest and Deel, but you don't see them listed here, you'll want to make sure their emails match between the two programs. Alternatively, an Administrator in Deel can add a Work email in the person's Deel profile that matches the email they use in Harvest.

Until a person is linked, their time entries can't transferred to Deel. If you'd like to begin copying a person's time entries to Deel, you can link them from this section.

To link a person and contract:

  • If the person has an active profile in Harvest and a Pay As You Go contract in Deel, there will be a checkbox next to their name. To link them:
    • Click the checkbox next to the person you'd like to link.
    • Then click Link person to link them.
  • If the checkbox is grayed out, the person doesn't have a Pay As You Go contract in Deel. You'll see a No hourly Pay As You Go contract found message confirming that. Adding a Pay As You Go contract for the person in Deel will allow you to link their profile in Harvest.

To enter a Work email in Deel

If your teammate in Deel is using an email on their contract that differs from the email used for their profile in Harvest, an Administrator in Deel can set a work email on their Deel contract.

An Administrator in Deel can do this for a person following these steps:

  1. Navigate to the Client Deel account.
  2. Click People and click on the person's name.
  3. In the General Information section of their profile, click Edit.
  4. Add the Work email so that it matches the email used in Harvest, then save the change.

Disconnecting Harvest from Deel

Disconnecting the Harvest + Deel integration will remove the ability for Administrators to copy time entries to Deel. However, your previously copied time entries will remain in Deel. All links between Harvest time entries and Deel Timesheet Entries will be removed upon disconnection.

  1. In Harvest, click on Settings (upper right corner).
    • Only Administrators can view and change account settings.
  2. Click Integrations in the left sidebar.
  3. In the Deel section, click on Disconnect.
  4. Confirm the disconnection by clicking Disconnect in the pop-up.

Note: If your Harvest and Deel accounts are later relinked, copying time entries that were previously sent over to Deel before the disconnection will result in duplicate entries in Deel. Therefore, if you relink Harvest and Deel, it would be best to only copy over new time entries to avoid duplicates.

Did you find this article helpful?

Still have questions? We’re happy to help!

Contact us