Each person in Harvest has a profile that contains information about them. Profiles have four sections: Projects, Basic Info, Notifications, and Security.
Administrators in Harvest can view and edit their own and other people’s profiles, while Project Managers and Regular Users can only view/edit their own profiles. When viewing another person’s profile, you won’t see the Notifications section, and if the person hasn’t accepted their invitation to Harvest yet, the Security section will show as Resend Invitation.
How to View a Profile
To view your own profile:
- Click your name in the upper right corner of Harvest.
- Click My Profile.
To view another team member's profile as an Administrator:
- From Team, click on a person to view their Person Page.
- Click Edit Profile (upper right corner).
Once in a profile, you can navigate to Projects, Basic Info, and Security from the menu on the left.
In the Projects section of a person’s user profile, non-Administrators can see which projects they’re assigned to, and Administrators can manage other people’s project assignments.
How to assign projects as an Administrator
- From the user profile, click Projects (left).
- Click into the search bar at the top of the page to search for and select the projects you want to assign.
- To add someone to all current projects, click Assign to all projects at the bottom of the search menu. This will also automatically assign the person to all new projects created in the future, but you can disable this option after you click Assign Projects.
- Click Assign Projects.
To remove someone from a project, click the X next to the project name. Removing someone from a project won’t delete time or expenses they’ve tracked to that project.
You can also choose which projects a Project Manager or Administrator can manage from this section. Check the box in the Manages This Project column next to any project the team member needs to manage and the change will sync in the account automatically.
If you’d like to mark a Regular User as a manager on a project, note that doing so will increase their permissions to Project Manager. You can check the box to the right of a project name, or click the All link under Manages This Project to mark them as a manager on all of the projects they’re assigned to. To confirm the change to their permissions, click the Yes, Update Permissions button in the message that appears.
In the Basic Info section of a person’s profile, you can edit your personal details, or other people’s details if you’re an Administrator. Here’s what’s included under Basic Info, with additional information on some items below the list:
- Type: Employee or Contractor
- First Name
- Last Name
- Work Email
- Roles (Only Administrators can view/edit)
- Capacity (Only Administrators can view/edit)
- Billable Rate (Only Administrators can view/edit)
- Cost Rate (Only Administrators can view/edit)
- Permissions (Only Administrators can edit, but everyone can view their own permission level)
- Notifications: timesheet submission emails (Admins and Project Managers will see this option in other people’s profiles only if Timesheet Approval is turned on for the account)
Team members are divided into Employee and Contractor sections in the Team section, in summary time reports (Reports > Time), and when Administrators use the Teammates dropdown on their timesheet to view someone else’s timesheet. Although the distinction between Employees and Contractors is primarily just for your information, only Contractors will appear in the Contractor Report. In addition, the Account Owner must be an Employee, not a Contractor.
Name and email
Administrators in Harvest have the ability to change another person’s first and last name, as well as their email address. Some things to note:
- Updating a person’s name will change their Harvest ID settings and will affect all accounts that person is a part of. They’ll receive an email notification that their name has changed, letting them know which Harvest and Forecast accounts are affected.
- Updating a person’s email address will create a new Harvest ID for that person and won’t affect any other Harvest or Forecast accounts that the prior email is a part of. They’ll receive an invitation at their new email address and should sign out of all their Harvest and Forecast accounts before accepting the new invitation. Once they’ve done that, they’ll be able to sign in to Harvest again.
- Non-Account Owners can’t edit the Account Owner’s email address. Other Administrators in the account will still see the email in the Account Owner’s profile, but the field will be grayed out.
Roles are descriptors for your teammates and allow you to specify what role each person plays in your company: Designer, Manager, Copywriter, etc. If you enter roles for your teammates, you can filter your Team section, detailed time reports (Reports > Detailed Time), and expense reports (Reports > Expense) by role.
This is a handy feature if you have people working in different parts of the world, as it allows people to track time in their own timezone. If you’re in New York City at 10 am and your employee in London is tracking time at the same time, their entry will show that it’s 3 pm, since that’s their local time. The timezone will default to your account’s setting, but team members will be given the option to set a timezone when they accept their invitation to the account.
Employee and contractor photos appear in the Team report under Reports > Time and on project analysis pages. We recommend that the photo size be 100 x 100 pixels.
If a team signs up for Harvest with a Google account, we automatically pull in the Google profile photo for each teammate added. You can remove a previously added photo in this section by checking the box next to Remove photo and clicking the Update Info button at the bottom.
When you first join a Harvest account, a Welcome home page is automatically shown each time you sign in. The page contains links to articles that can help you get started with your time tracking. If you’ve dismissed the Welcome home page and you’d like to see it again, you can check the box next to Show the Welcome home page in this section of your profile.
In the Notifications section of your own profile, you can manage the notifications we send to you. You won’t see this section in other people’s profiles.
Need some help remembering to track your time? When you enable Timesheet Reminders in your profile, we’ll send you a notification if you haven’t tracked anything by the time you choose on the day(s) you select. Learn more in our article about sending Timesheet Reminders to yourself.
Your Weekly Harvest Report
If you check the box here, we’ll email you a personal report at the beginning of each week—Your Weekly Harvest Report—to give you a colorful overview of how you spent your time the previous week.
Here you can opt in to receive emails when people submit timesheets for projects you manage (if Timesheet Approval is enabled and you’re a Project Manager or Administrator). You can also choose whether to receive emails whenever timesheets are approved (if Timesheet Approval is enabled and you’re an Administrator).
Here, you can:
- Opt out of project deletion emails (if you’re a Project Manager or Administrator).
- Choose to hear from us occasionally when we share updates, tips, and interesting stories related to Harvest.
Everyone who has signed into Harvest will have a Security section. If you’re an Administrator looking at another person’s profile and they haven’t signed into Harvest for the first time, it will display as Resend Invitation instead.
Changing your password
- Click your name in the top right corner of Harvest and select My Profile.
- Under the Security tab, click Change Your Password. This will take you to the Security section of your Harvest ID.
- Click the green Change My Password button.
- You’ll receive a password reset email with a link you can follow to set a new password.
Viewing authorized integrations and applications
In the Integrations section of your profile’s Security tab, you can also connect to or disconnect from some Harvest-built integrations, such as the Google and Outlook.com calendar integrations.
In the Authorized Applications section, you can view any Harvest-built and third-party apps you’ve signed in to, such as our mobile and desktop apps. To revoke access to any of those apps, click the Revoke Access button.
What Administrators see in another Person’s Security/Resend Invitation section
Administrators can’t see anyone else’s password. Instead, they’ll see a Reset Password button that will send the person instructions on how to reset their password. If the person hasn’t signed in to Harvest yet, Administrators will see a Resend Invitation button.