Assigning, editing, and deleting roles

This article is for Administrators. Learn more about permissions. If you’re a Member, check out our Member resources.

Roles are descriptors for your teammates that let you associate a person with their responsibility or position at your company. Some example roles are: Designer, Sales, Manager, NYC Office, etc.

Roles are handy when running Team reports or Detailed time or expense reports. You’ll be able to filter to any role in your company, to see reports for just the people who are on that role.

Creating and assigning roles

Administrators can create roles, and assign them to teammates, in two ways: on a person’s profile, or on the Manage >Roles page.

Creating a role in a person's profile

To create a role on a person’s profile:

  1. Head to Team, then click the Actions dropdown to the right of the teammate you’d like to apply a role to.
  2. Select Edit.
  3. Go to the person’s Basic info (left menu).
  4. In the Roles field, add any existing or new role you’d like.
  5. Click the Update info button at the bottom to save your changes.

Creating a role from the Manage > Roles page

To create a role on the Manage > Roles page:

  1. Head to Manage > Roles.
  2. Click the New role button.
  3. Enter the name of your role, and select the people you’d like to be assigned to the role.
  4. Click the Save role button.

Editing roles

Editing roles from Manage > Roles

To edit the name of a role, or to edit the people assigned to a role:

  1. Head to Manage > Roles.
  2. Click the Edit button for any role you’d like to change.
  3. Make your edits, then click the Save role button to apply the change.

Editing roles in a person's profile

You can also edit a person’s role assignments from their profile:

  1. Head to Team, then click the Actions dropdown to the right of the teammate you’d like to update.
  2. Select Edit.
  3. Go to the person’s Basic info (left menu).
  4. In the Roles field, you can add or remove the person’s role assignments.

Deleting roles

Deleting an individual role

To delete a role from your account:

  1. Head to Manage > Roles.
  2. Click the Delete button for the role you’d like to remove.

Restoring a deleted role

When you first delete a role, you can click Undo to revert this change before the page is reloaded. Once the page has been reloaded there is no undo and the role is permanently deleted from the account. 

Bulk deleting roles

To delete multiple roles from your account at once:

  1. Head to Manage > Roles.
  2. Select the checkbox next to the roles you'd like to remove.
    • You can click on the checkbox next to Role to select all of your roles.
  3. Click Delete selected roles and confirm your choice.

Deleting a role this way is permanent and cannot be undone.

Did you find this article helpful?

Still have questions? We’re happy to help!

Contact us