Version 2 billing: Adding seats to or removing seats from your subscription

Harvest makes a distinction between paid seats in your subscription (the paid slots available in your account for teammates to occupy) and active people (individuals who are currently using your account). That distinction allows you to archive or delete people who've left your company and invite new ones without having to change your seat count every time. It also means, however, that when you archive or delete an active teammate, their seat isn't automatically removed from your subscription.

Your seat count can be adjusted in the Billing section of your Settings. The number of seats in your account determines the amount you’re billed upon subscription renewal as well as the maximum number of people who can be active in your account.

That is, if you want to reduce the amount you’re charged, you’ll need to first archive or delete people under Team and then reduce your seat count by taking the steps below. Along the same lines, you may need to increase your seat count before you’re able to invite more people to start using your Harvest account.

You can learn more, and watch a video on managing people and seats, in our article on Archiving, deleting, and restoring people 🎦.

Adding seats to or scheduling seats for removal from your monthly subscription

To add seats to your monthly subscription, any Administrator can take the following steps:

  1. Head to Settings (top right).
  2. Select Billing in the left sidebar.
  3. Go to the Current plan area and click the Add seats link.
    • Note that you aren’t able to add seats if you already have seats scheduled for removal. You’ll need to click the Cancel link in the Current plan section of Billing details before you can add additional seats.
  4. On the next screen, you’ll be able to increase the number of seats in your plan.
  5. After entering the number of additional seats you’d like to purchase, click Charge credit card.
  6. You’ll automatically be charged a prorated amount for the seats you add.

To schedule seats for removal from your monthly subscription, any Administrator can take the following steps:

  1. Head to Settings (top right).
  2. Select Billing in the left sidebar.
  3. Go to the Current plan area and click the Remove seats link.
  4. On the next page, enter the number of seats you need to keep in your account.
    • If the lowest number of seats available is still too many, you'll need to archive more teammates in your account by clicking the archive people link at the top of the page.
    • The Adjusted subscription section will show you the amount you’ll be charged at the time of renewal. 
    • The Summary section will display the number of seats that will be on your plan at renewal, along with your next renewal date and total subscription payment.
  5. Click Schedule seat removal to schedule the seat reduction for your next monthly renewal.
    • The decreased number of seats for your plan will go into effect on your next renewal date as described in the Summary section. 

Note: You will see the scheduled renewal information in the Billing section (left sidebar) of your Settings page—featured in a blue message box. If you'd like to cancel the scheduled reduction, you can click Cancel in that message to renew with your current number of seats.

Adding seats to or scheduling seats for removal from your yearly subscription

To add seats to your yearly subscription, any Administrator can take the following steps:

  1. Head to Settings (top right).
  2. Select Billing in the left sidebar.
  3. Go to the Current plan area and click the Add seats link.
    • Note that you aren’t able to add seats if you already have seats scheduled for removal. You’ll need to click the Cancel link in the Current plan section of Billing details before you can add additional seats.
  4. On the next screen, you’ll be able to increase the number of seats in your plan.
  5. After entering the number of additional seats you’d like to purchase, click either the Charge credit card or Submit order button (depending on your payment method).
  6. If you pay yearly by credit card, you’ll automatically be charged a prorated amount for the seats you add. If you pay yearly via invoice, you’ll receive an invoice for the prorated amount.

To schedule seats for removal from your yearly subscription, any Administrator can take the following steps:

  1. Head to Settings (top right).
  2. Select Billing in the left sidebar.
  3. Go to the Current plan area and click the Remove seats link.
  4. On the next page, select the number of seats you need to keep in your account.
    • If the lowest number of seats available is still too many, you'll need to archive more teammates in your account by clicking the archive people link at the top of the page.
    • The Adjusted subscription section will show you the amount you’ll be charged at the time of renewal. 
    • The Summary section will show the number of seats that will be on your plan at renewal, along with your next renewal date and total subscription payment.
  5. Click Schedule seat removal to schedule the seat reduction for your next yearly renewal.
    • The decreased number of seats for your plan will go into effect on your next renewal date as described in the Summary section. 

If you pay yearly by invoice, you won't be able to reduce your seat count from within Settings after the subscription renewal invoice has been sent, which happens on the day of your renewal. If you'd like to reduce your seat count during this time, you can contact Harvest support.

Note: You will see the scheduled renewal information in the Billing section (left sidebar) of your Settings page—featured in a blue message box. If you'd like to cancel the scheduled reduction, you can click Cancel in that message to renew with your current number of seats.

Did you find this article helpful?

Still have questions? We’re happy to help!

Contact us