How to bulk edit time entries

This article is for Administrators. Learn more about permissions. If you’re a Member, check out our Member resources.

This article covers how to bulk move time entries from one project or task to another. If you're looking for information on bulk editing entries as invoiced or uninvoiced, see our article on marking entries as invoiced or uninivoiced.

Administrators can reassign multiple time entries from one project or task to another, all at once. This can be useful if, for example, someone has been tracking time to the wrong project or task. This can also be useful if you need to split one project into two and move some time from the original project to the new one, or if you’d like to merge two different tasks into one.

Who can bulk move entries and what entries can be moved?

Bulk editing time entries can be done from the detailed time report. Here are a few things to be aware of:

  • Only Administrators can bulk move entries. Managers can run detailed time reports, but they cannot bulk move time entries.
  • If a person or task included in the entries is not already assigned to the new project, we’ll add them for you.
  • You can move time even if it’s already been approved.
  • You cannot move time if it’s already been invoiced (though there is a workaround you can use in this instance). 
  • You cannot move time to an archived project.
  • You can move uninvoiced time to a project that’s already been invoiced for the time period in question. If you want to bill your client for the moved time entries, you’ll need to create another invoice for that time period.
  • You cannot move time from one date to another. To change a time entry's date, head to the Day View of the timesheet and edit the entry manually.
  • You cannot move time from one person's timesheet to another person's timesheet.  You'll need to create a new time entry on the new teammate's timesheet and then delete the original if an entry is associated with the wrong person. 

Bulk move hours to another project or task

  1. Go to Reports > Detailed time.
  2. Set the filters so they only capture the time entries you want to update, then click Run report.
    • Note: While a report narrowed by filters can be easier to review, it’s not always possible to narrow a report to only the entries you’re looking for. You can also select individual entries by checking the box to the left of an entry if you’d like to move specific entries on the report.
  3. Click the Actions dropdown.
  4. Select Move all hours to another project or …task if you’re moving all of the time entries on the report, or Move selected hours to another project or …task if you’ve selected specific entries.
  5. In the dialog that appears, select the project or task you’d like to move the hours to, then click Next step.
  6. Review the changes that will be made. If everything looks correct, type MOVE into the text field and click the Move hours button.
  7. The detailed time report will update with the changes highlighted.

Did you find this article helpful?

Still have questions? We’re happy to help!

Contact us